BarCamp Hyderabad, I was there !

 barcamphyd

I was too excited to attend BarCamp Hyderabad this weekend (8th, april, 2006). I have some good experiences with this cool community meet to share.

I happend to reach the venue (IIIT campus) at around 2:50 PM. The city has become like a furnace due to high temperature, but something like high spirit and enthusiam made me attend this meet 🙂

When I entered in to the Unconference hall, I realized that I am not one of very few crazy people to attend a conference under 40 degrees celcious. We had around 150 registered members attended I guess. To be frank, i expected only 15+ members since i had some previous experiences with developer communities in hyderabad.

The BarCamp hyderabad took life when Mr Ramesh loganathan started it with his key note speech explaining about BarCamp and Web 2.0. It was a cool talk, straight to the point, with out wasting any more time the sessions are started in a sequence after his speech.

The first session was given by Jay Pullur, CEO, Pramati on oppertunities in Web 2.0. I was very much impressed by this man's talk and they way he is putting things together to make it a sense. I felt he should have taken a session on "REST" rather than this session. His experience as a CEO truly reflected in his speech. A very good start for BarCamp Hyderabad indeed.

The next session is on "Economics of Web 2.0", by Rajan. This session was started with my favourite Matrix visuals (not sure if it matched the session content, I am still confused on that…pardon my ignorance). But this talk seemed to be like a Economics Geek session for me. To understand this session, we must be able to know the web economics and e-commerce at basics atleast. This is my personal opinion anyway. In one of the slide he mentioned that according to someone's rule we should manage attention rather than information. I feel, it is 100% true in web 2.0 context. I agree that web 2.0's main goals is to drive user to choose the information that needs thier attention. But we should be managing the information all the time in web, regardless of user's choice. There should be a ratio of share between managing user's attention and information, rather than carving our economy models towards just "Managing attention". This may lead to death of web one more time after dotcom bubble burst.

Next session is about TUI (Tangible UI). The only one satisfaction I got from this session is "I got to know what is TUI" and happend to see some cool gadget videos and how unit level Phidgets communicate to each. I feel the presenter could not be able to make a point relating that study to Web 2.0.

Next talk is by Dr Vishan Garg, IIIT suggesting there should be an economy model that yields money to the original authors than the publishers and how we can leverage Web 2.0. Very nice topic but very badly dragged in to a side talk on how to get money for articles and papers, rather than how to enable a channel for that using Web 2.0.

The next talk is by Dr Kamaal,  IIIT on having a virtual Web Operating system. The idea is pretty old and very similiar to systems like VMware, and Virtual Server but Dr. Kamaal, successfully made his session very interesting by explaining the idea of implementation in slides. I found some hazy concepts behind this session. How a Client can use a Web OS with a browser and with no hardware ? This point was not answered at all. And I was given an answer by Dr. Kamaal that he never heard anything like VMWare or Virtual Server before when i asked him if this idea is very similiar to those application. On a seperate note : Virtual Server can host upto 64 different Operating systems on one big server and can be accessed by anywhere in this world.

The later session was given by Pramati team on XForms. I dont know how this concept was related to Web 2.0 at all. Thier concept is very cool, very similiar to what .NET ASMX pages does under the hoods, but how come it is related to internet architecture of next generation?

At this point I was disappointed by the way sessions are tossing balls over heads and left the conference at midst due to some personal emergencies.

I felt bad to miss 2 sessions particulary.

01. Yahoo UI Libraries ( I was very impressed by this package from Yahoo (very poor documentation ofcourse)).

02. Cordys session on AJAX and XForms …My apologies to Anand Radhakrishnan. Anand.. I missed your session here too 😦

My overall experience: 

01. Certainly a very good start for BarCamp hyderabad.
02. There is a lack of planning on session sequence and  choosing topics..(I think we have too much of liberty in giving any session on any topic on this earth :-)).
03. Thanks to the hosting team, they did a marvelous job.
04. Thanks for the cool T-Shirt, CAP, pen and Pad. Some good quality stuff 🙂
05. I did not lost a single byte of my energy or passion about this Unconference, I will be waiting for next meet to meet these geeks.
06. One funny thing : Some guys got too excited to see live.com and they started advocating live.com in every possible occasion. I think they should look at other competitive sites and technologies too before making a point.

technorati tags: , ,

6 Responses to BarCamp Hyderabad, I was there !

  1. Rajan says:

    Hi,

    The reason I put the matrix graphic was that all the three pic are looking at what is underneath. The first pic is the last sequence of Matrix where Neo realizes that Agent Smith and his friends are all made of bits & atoms so he knows how to destroy them now. The second pic was that of seraph in Matrix Revolutions again Neo knows that he is made of energy & bits.
    The third pic was from Matrix Reloaded were Neo walks back to source to talk about combating Smith. He sees that all the dark murky thing that this is matrix is nothing but energy.

    The point that I wanted to make was that if we “See through economics” it allows us to understand the nature of things better and we could devise a good strategy/approach to deal with it just like the way neo sees through the matrix 😀

    I will try to keep my ppts more jargon free further on.

    Oh yeah btw I never had a course of economics ever, believe me one does’nt need one 😀

    Cheers,
    Rajan

  2. sudhakar says:

    Yes 🙂 I got your point there in the session itself..Cool presentation. and yes there are few economic math seemed OHT to me :-)I think one slide with n^2 and 2^n thingy.

  3. Rajan says:

    😀 ! will do a post some time to demystify it.

  4. Sumeet says:

    The Yahoo! UI Libraries have excellent documentation and examples. Take a look at [ http://developer.yahoo.com/yui/ ].

    cheers,
    Sumeet.

  5. prashant says:

    hi
    i am a final year engineering student.
    Can u please guide me about how to attend a bar camp.

    thank you
    prashant
    agr.prashant@gmail.com

  6. Anand Vedula says:

    Nice one Sudhakar – I was there, too :). I look forward to meeting you the next time. Prashant, you will know about Hyderabad barcamps either from this paper, or from any popular local forums, like this Hyderabad guide.

Leave a Reply

